Use the DS Site Configuration General property page to define a display name, set the amount of time to save a tombstone, delete the tombstone, and set up anonymous access.
Use the General property page to define the display name and view the directory name for the DS Site Configuration object. The display name identifies the object in the Administrator window. The default display name is DS Site Configuration.
|Display name||Type a maximum of 256 alphanumeric characters, which can include spaces and special characters. If no name is provided, the system prompts for a value.|
|Directory name||The name is defined during installation. It cannot be changed.|
The tombstone lifetime is the amount of time you want to save a tombstone indicating that an object has been deleted from a directory. For example, when you delete a name from an Address Book, the name is deleted from the server where you specified the action, but a tombstone remains. The tombstone is replicated to other servers and deletes the corresponding directory entry on the other servers.
Note When you set the tombstone lifetime, consider how often you delete objects, how long replication takes, and how long between server backups. Set a long enough interval so that all servers can be notified of the deleted object before the tombstone is removed. If the tombstone is removed before all servers have been notified of the deletion, the object may still appear in the directory.
The garbage collection interval is the number of hours representing the interval at which expired tombstones are deleted. For example, once an object has been deleted and replication has taken place, the tombstone can be removed. At each garbage collection interval, all expired tombstones are deleted.
Note By removing expired tombstones, you increase disk space and the efficiency of your system.
You can set up the Anonymous account to enable the directory to access containers when anonymous users connect to Microsoft Exchange Server. This account is an internal account, such as the Guest account, used only by the directory. It is different from the account you set on individual containers for anonymous users.
The Anonymous account should be a Windows NT user account with minimal permissions and a password that does not expire.