|Maintenance and Troubleshooting||<<||>>|
You can clean a mailbox to delete messages from a user's mailbox stored on a server. Cleaning the mailbox recovers space in the server's private information store.
Note Cleaning a mailbox works only on single or multiple mailboxes but does not work for distribution lists, custom recipients, or public folders. Cleaning a user's mailbox can be done while the mailbox is open.
You can specify which messages should be deleted from the mailbox.
|All messages older than (days)||Type a value representing days. All messages older than the specified number of days are deleted.|
|All messages greater than (K)||Type a value representing kilobytes. All messages larger than the specified number of kilobytes are deleted.|
Messages are marked with one of four sensitivity levels. All messages marked with the selected sensitivity levels will be deleted. Select the default sensitivity that you want to assign to all your outgoing mail.
|Normal||Leaves the item header blank and sends messages with no sensitivity.|
|Personal||Contains nonbusiness information.|
|Private||Prohibits any recipient from modifying your original message when it is replied to or forwarded.|
|Confidential||Handles the message according to your organization's policy on confidentiality.|
You can delete messages based on whether they have been read.
|Read items||Deletes all messages that have been read.|
|Unread items||Deletes all messages that have not been read.|
|Read and unread items||Deletes read and unread messages.|
When you clean a mailbox, you can delete all information associated with the selected folder or delete only mail messages.
|Only delete mail messages||If cleared, mail messages and other messages containing information such as contact, calendaring, and tasks are deleted. If selected, only mail messages are deleted.|
|Delete deferred action messages||If selected, all messages in the deferred actions folder are deleted. Deferred action messages describe commands that are queued for the e-mail client to perform the next time it logs on to the server. These commands can include copying and moving messages to a personal folder or rules that delete messages from a personal folder. If cleared, deferred action messages are preserved.|
You can indicate what action should be taken on deleted messages.
|Delete items immediately||Immediately deletes all messages that meet the specified criteria.|
|Move items to Deleted Items Folder||Moves deleted messages into the selected user's Deleted Items folder. Messages in the Deleted Items folder can be retrieved, viewed, and moved to other folders.|